While there is no state that rewards you for burglarizing a home, there are definitely some states where it’s a lot worse to be caught. This infographic from SimpliSafe takes a look at the 13 states that are toughest on burglars. These states include:
- South Carolina
- District of Columbia
In the above thirteen states, the average minimum sentence is 2.5 years; a year and a half more than the average for the rest of the country. Comparatively, the maximum in these states tends to be much more as well. South Carolina and Virginia allow for a life sentence. Alabama is a close second as they have the ability to hand down a 100 year sentence. On the opposite end of the spectrum (and still on this list) is Illinois which will give a maximum of 25 years. Illinois is followed closely by Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, and Kentucky – all of which have a 30 year maximum.
It’s not just jail time that burglars have to fear in these states – 92% of these 13 states have “shoot first” laws. Laws such as “Stand Your Ground Law” and “Castle Doctrine” in these states allow home owners to use deadly force when threatened without any requirement to retreat.
That’s not all though; some states have extra punishments for burglars, read the infographic to find out all about why crime doesn’t pay in these 13 states.